EXP : 88
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
TO CONCRETIZE THE DREAM
A CONVERSATION WITH LEE PORTER BUTLER
designer of the Ekose'a Gravity geo-Thermal Envelope Home
by Arjuna Da Silva New Florida Magazine April 1989

Familiar stories from the sixties and seventies: creative, educated people go off to dabble in dreams of fame and fortune or freedom from desire. Some reach pinnacles, others turn back too soon to achieve, and some spend long, cold nights of the soul on the heights. These days Florida draws figures of genius and influence from all walks and weathers to her comfortable shores. Such a figure is Lee Porter Butler, a self-styled, self-taught and onthe job trained maverick architect whose designs have been acclaimed in professional journals, local newspapers around the world Co-Evolution Quarterly and The San francisco Bay Guardian.
Lee starteed in Tennessee where he first made a name for himselfin architecture by designing his family home in 1970. A seies of environmentally sound design discoveries followed, notably "the gravity geo-thermal envelope". In 1975 he transplanted himself and his visions to the rich, innovative soil of California, where from his offices in San Francisco he was commissioned to design and manage projects across the country. As Lee tells it, success in California became a game, and it was easy to let its accoutrements-glamour, possessions, prestige- obscure the original inspiration with which he arrived.
God is good. Timne passes. People grow.
Lee came to Florida in 1985 with a bubbling crucible of ideas and a committment to work with environmentally and spiritually aware people. he feels strongly that the gravity geo-thermal Envelope designs combined with solar electric systems, organic waste recycling, efficient food production, and the Danish principle of cohousing (clustering individual homes around a common house with shared facilities) is the best possible answer to our modern human needs.